to do - not to do

2014 and as the cliche dictates I made resolutions. With the slight distinction that I religiously celebrate the Mexican tradition of eating 12 grapes when the clock hits midnight. With each grape being crashed between my jaws I send a thought, a goal, a pathway to the universe for it to hopefully materialise and being sent back to me. 

Last year I started doing a "not to do" - resolution list, written down on paper and carried around everyday. I want to get rid of bad bahibts, bad thoughts, bad friends, bad parts of me, and carrying a list helps to remember that I am actively working on the bad stuff, too, in case the New Year's Resolution of going to the gym every day will traditionally be postponed for the next New Year's Resolution. 

 

In addition to all these things, I have counted the bad days for the past 2 years. A bad day is defined by absolute feelings of dispair, the lowest, most unwelcome moments, where I sadly must admit that I forget to love myself, hence the world, too. Love is truly all, and when love is gone nothing goes. So in order to remember that we need to count the bad and the really good days, observe the ratio and make conclusions and be aware of the sides a coin has. Even the darkest days leave a mark, an insight, a lessons learnt from which we can draw good, positive, deep feelings and thoughts. Good days as such are hard to calculate, so I count the moments. Light, beautiful, colourful moments of this year. 

 

I also happen to have a jar which purpose it is to contain little papers with "awesome moment" notes in it. 

 

So these are four things I do, to keep track of the year and my happiness ratio. 

 

And now long story told short I must admit that most of my NY resolutions weren't fulfilled, writing a poem every week or at least 35 poems didn't work (in fact I wrote 16) . I didn't read one book for my own pleasure, I didn't meditate, I drank more than I wanted, I didn't work harder. So is there a reason to not like myself so much after all? Let's skip that. I did fulfil some points on my list, and they were the least expected, or most random. Find out more who I am and explore my femenity. Yes these were my resolutions. 

 

So for next year here's the list and the not-to-do list:

 

To do:

 

Receive my 1st real wage

35 poems by end of 2014

read for pleasure

go to bed on time

write letters to loved ones and strangers

show appreciation, be grateful, practice humbleness

wake up when I need to wake up

get out of the comfort zone, be open

focus on myself, my path, my health, my future - my present

practice my languages and instruments, plant a garden, eat my own grown

be clean, eat clean, live clean, think clean

define the year by detox instead of intox : 1 month sugar free, 1 month full vegan, 15 days vegan raw, do one liver cleanse, do one master cleanse, go to meditation retreats, find a silent retreat. 

 

my not to do list is much shorter in appearance but clear

 

don't:

 

snooze

wait too long to make a decision

rush into feelings

find excuses

forget who I am and what I need

smoke too much

drink too much

waste time

distract myself

be scared of loss 

wait instead of doing

assume. 

 

Happy New Year to everyone, may all your wishes may be granted but be careful what you wish for. Mua

 

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 5
  • #1

    customized love pad lock (Samstag, 01 März 2014 12:29)

    We wanted to give our customers a unique gift idea that not only could be used by husbands and boyfriends, but also for parents, grand-parents and best friends. We feel that our custom engraved padlocks provide our customers with the opportunity to express and individualize an otherwise boring padlock.

  • #2

    Digital Silk Road 2013 Relationships (Mittwoch, 12 März 2014 11:23)

    This is an informative blog by which I have got that info which I really wanted to get.

  • #3

    golds gym (Donnerstag, 05 Mai 2016 12:00)

    Thanks for the great post on your blog, it really gives me an insight on this topic.

  • #4

    Ethelyn Mcferren (Sonntag, 22 Januar 2017 11:48)


    It is perfect time to make a few plans for the long run and it is time to be happy. I have read this publish and if I could I desire to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions. Maybe you can write subsequent articles relating to this article. I desire to read more things approximately it!

  • #5

    Ela Foree (Dienstag, 24 Januar 2017 11:27)


    I am in fact pleased to read this blog posts which includes plenty of helpful information, thanks for providing these statistics.